Woman

You were my greatest love before I knew your name

Or had seen lines of your face

The fullness of your lips

Before I had searched the endless well of our love

Trying to find how much I love you

And never seeing the end

My love for you rests in infinity with the heart of life

Before I had witnessed my legs tremble under the weight of your smile

Or this square in my chest fly like a falcon racing home

To where it belongs

Before I called you baby

Watching fate intertwine to place your soft hands in mine

Like love has been waiting for us for all of existence

Like we place the strings on the harp of life’s soul and the most beautiful music is played

We are that song

And we dance to it like lovers blissfully lost in themselves and all of eternity

And we’ve forgotten our names and our shapes

And dissolved together into the same

All barriers broken

My love unrestrained like wild horses

I sing for you when I walk with the trees

Knowing that you hear me from across the pond

And the ripples and waves carry my heart for you to drink

Oh Woman, all that you are

Do you even know?

Does the summer rose know the perfection of its petals?

Does the sun know it sustains all of life?

Or the swan ever catch a reflection of its wondrous being in the silver lake?

I could write about you for days and not say anything about who you really are

Because you are that vast

And my love for you vaster

Your form like God fashioned himself a lover

And spared no detail

And put off everything until you were done saying “No, it can wait”

No matter how much I have, I always want more of you

The insatiable desire that pervades all things

But this love can’t be bought or bullied with shame or envy or fear

Perfect Love

With no use for anyone else’s opinion

Existing and sufficient unto itself

2 thoughts on “Woman

Leave a comment